Booger Diary

King of The Hill

Not as hard as you think it is...

I've finally built up enough leg-strength and cardio to be able to bike a full loop through my town. The loop is a little over 6 miles - which is nothing compared to what the average bike-rider can do, but it felt great to finish. There's one part with a gnarly hill climb, and I managed to pull it off without walking the bike.

That hill is the peak of the ride, the rest is the down hill back home. Pushing through it made me feel pretty accomplished. Normally I'd feel a sense of dread, and I'd wiener out and turn around.

Life's never perfect though.

To knock me down a few pegs, a lycra-wearing cyclist rode up to me and tried to lecture me on not wearing a helmet. "Your head isn't as hard as you think."

I was out of breath and not really grasping his words - so I just uttered a "yup" and waved him on.

I mean, he's right. I should wear one. So it really didn't bug me too much.

Ladybird

We have a dog - our current rental has a no pets policy. We've done a very good job at hiding him and keeping him happy.

I said from the beginning that we should've given him back to his original owners. They were open to that in the beginning. The dog has zero confidence, and has been really tough to break out of his shell.

He's gotten much better since then - but I hate the stress that the little guy brings into our ecosystem.

That has been the main source of stress for us - and I regret saying I'm okay with him. He's great and I love him, but I wish he wasn't partly my responsibility.

We just got approved for a new lease on a different place - it allows pets. The landlord to the new place called our current landlord for a background check. He mentioned the dog.

We've been outed. Our landlord pressed us via email.

I sent a fat lie of an email to our current landlord, saying we're getting the dog later, and that we put the dog on the lease preemptively.

Still waiting on a reply from our current landlord a day later.

Fuck it - ride or die for this dog.

It feels like we're harboring a fugitive.

Man I'm stressed.